Carthage #1 again

Carthage #1 again
Friday, December 17, 2010 - 9:12pm

Bulldogs win third straight state title

ARLINGTON, Texas (AP) - Anthony Morgan threw for 392 yards and
six touchdowns, including an 85-yarder on his first play, and
Carthage won its third straight Class 3A Division II championship
with a 47-22 victory against Coldspring-Oakhurst on Friday.

Morgan had 213 yards and four touchdowns by halftime, with
Cortlyn Ware and Jalen Claiborne each scoring twice. Ware caught
the long opening pass in stride about 40 yards downfield and went
in untouched.

Carthage (14-2) took control with two third-quarter TD passes by
Morgan, one each to Ware and Claiborne.

Coldspring's Sherman Gilbert answered Morgan's arm with his feet
for a half, rushing for 129 yards and a touchdown before halftime.
He finished with 149 yards.

Coldspring (14-2) fell to 0-2 in championship games. The other
loss was in 1992.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment