Breaking News

Thursday, March 26, 2015 - 10:53pm

Filing period under way for Kilgore College Board of Trustees election

Filing period under way for Kilgore College Board of Trustees election

POSTED: Friday, February 1, 2013 - 6:29pm

UPDATED: Friday, February 1, 2013 - 6:44pm

Jan. 30 was the first day prospective candidates could file for places on the ballot for the Kilgore College Board of Trustees election.

Two of the three current board members up for re-election have filed for a place on the ballot.

The application process will remain open through Friday, March 1, and voters in the Kilgore College District will elect three people to the nine-member board in the May 11 election.

Early voting is Monday through Friday, April 29 through May 7.

Current board members whose terms expire in May are: Joe Carrington Voting Unit 2, Place 8, in the North Zone; R.E. “Sonny” Spradlin, Voting Unit 3, Place 9, in the Central Zone; and Robert D. Heath, Voting Unit No. 1, Place 7, in the South Zone.

Both Carrington and Heath have filed for re-election. Also, Brian Nutt, pastor at Grace Fellowship of Kilgore, had turned in his application to seek Spradlin’s seat. That position represents Kilgore ISD on the college board.

Voting Unit No. 1 consists of the Overton and Leverett's Chapel Independent School Districts and the West Rusk County Consolidated Independent School District.

Voting Unit No. 2 consists of the Gladewater, White Oak and Sabine Independent School Districts.

Voting Unit No. 3 consists of the Kilgore Independent School District.

Forms for application for a place on the ballot can be picked up in the Assistant to the President’s Office, or in the Office of Institutional Planning in the McLaurin Administration Building on the Kilgore campus.

Office hours are 7:45 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Thursday, and 7:45 a.m. to 3:45 p.m. on Fridays.

To receive forms by mail, call 903-983-8101 or 903-983-8207.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment