Breaking News

Watches & Warnings Warnings

Mega Millions to become even more mega, beginning with the October 22 drawing

Mega Millions to become even more mega, beginning with the October 22 drawing
MGN Online
News

POSTED: Tuesday, October 22, 2013 - 4:04pm

UPDATED: Saturday, February 8, 2014 - 10:40am

The Mega Millions game is getting bigger!

Starting with the October 22, 2013, drawing, Mega Millions players will see changes that include larger starting jackpots, faster growing jackpots, a million-dollar second prize and better odds of winning any prize—all for the same $1 players now pay.

“We can expect to see larger jackpots and greater excitement,” said Paula Otto, Virginia Lottery Executive Director and lead director of the Mega Millions Consortium. “Yet one very important thing won’t change. The price of a Mega Millions ticket will remain one dollar.”

“Larger Mega Millions jackpots mean increased profits for the worthy causes supported by U. S. lotteries,” said Cynthia O’Connell, Florida Lottery Secretary, Member of Multi-State Lottery Association Executive Committee and chair of Marketing and Promotions for Multi-State Lottery Association. “Every ticket, win or lose, benefits the jurisdiction in which it’s sold.”

Players will notice that the minimum jackpot will increase from $12 million to $15 million, and jackpots will grow by at least $5 million after each drawing in which the jackpot is not won. Tickets reflecting the changes are on sale now!

Mega Millions drawings will still consist of five white balls and one gold Mega Ball, for a total of six winning numbers. Under a new matrix, the number of white balls will increase to 75 and the number of gold balls (the Mega Ball) will decrease to 15. The result will be overall odds of just 1 in 15 to win any prize.

Here are some of the other enhancements that players will see:

· The prize structure will change. For example, the second prize will increase from $250,000 to $1 million for matching the first five numbers.

· The Megaplier, a multiplier option which players can purchase for an additional $1 to increase their non-jackpot prizes, will be expanded to include a five factor. That means a Mega Millions ticket can now win up to $5 million without matching all six numbers.

Under the new matrix, the odds of hitting the jackpot will be 1 in 259 million. See the complete prize structure and odds for the new game.

The last time the Mega Millions matrix changed was June 2005.

Mega Millions is currently played in 45 jurisdictions: 43 states plus Washington, D.C. and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Drawings are Tuesday and Friday evenings at 11:00 Eastern Time, 10:00 Central Time, 9:00 Mountain Time and 8:00 Pacific Time. Profits from every Mega Millions ticket sold remain in the state in which the ticket was sold.
 

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment