New traffic laws Sunday
Every legislative session, when new laws are passed, they generally go into effect the following September first.
So, Texas drivers need to listen up.
That’s right, this Sunday a new batch of traffic laws kick in. some of them will probably not effect you, but some definitely will.
For a few years now, we have been required to pull over and slow down for police or fire vehicles parked on the side of the road.
Now, TxDot vehicles are included.
Recently police were seeing an interesting phenomenon.
Intoxicated drivers were leaving the scene of injury or fatal accidents before the police got there, because the punishment for leaving the scene was less than intoxicated manslaughter.
Now those punishments have been equalized…2-20 years and up to a $10,000 fine.
It’s still legal to drive and use a cell phone in Texas, but hopefully we all know that you can’t use your cell phone in a school zone.
Now, that has been extended to the parking lot and pickup line at the school, so put the phone down.
And the fine for passing a school bus with the lights flashing has been raised, with fines ranging from $500 to $1250.