Breaking News

Watches & Warnings Warnings

Patrick Mahomes wins American State Bank Player of the Year Award again


POSTED: Thursday, January 9, 2014 - 9:53pm

UPDATED: Thursday, January 9, 2014 - 11:01pm

They've given out this award twice.

The quarterback from Whitehouse has won it both times.

Patrick Mahomes won the American State Bank Player of the Year Award again Thursday night at Hollytree Country club in Tyler.

The record-setting Wildcat will play college ball at Texas Tech.

Mahomes wins a $10,000 scholarship from ASB.  The other eight finalists received $2,500 scholarships each.

KETK Sports Director Danny Elzner got this reaction from Mahomes after winning the award for a second time.

"Getting this Player of the Year Award shows a lot of hard work paid off," Mahomes said.  "It comes with being with a great team and great coaches that can coach me up."

"I win this award but it's more my team," Mahomes added.  "I'm the quarterback. I get some glory. But they work just as hard. They are what makes me a good player."

Here are the nine finalists for the American State Bank Award.

· Patrick Mahomes-Whitehouse Quarterback
· Zach Hall-Robert E. Lee Quarterback
· George Anthony-West Rusk Running Back
· Andrew Black-Chapel Hill Quarterback
· Chandler Nutt-Grace Community Quarterback
· Geovari McCollister-John Tyler Quarterback
· Marcalas Johnson-Arp Running Back
· Carter McCown-Jacksonville Quarterback
· Aaron Jackson-Lindale Running Back

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment