Gohmert announces winners of 2014 Congressional Art Competition

Gohmert announces winners of 2014 Congressional Art Competition
Office of Louie Gohmert
The School Yard
Monday, December 9, 2013 - 5:18pm

Rep. Louie Gohmert (TX-01) hosted a reception to honor the participants and announced the winners of the 2014 Congressional Art Competition on Sunday, December 8, 2013, in Marshall, Texas. He released the following statement regarding the outstanding art pieces submitted this year:

“This weekend, it was exciting to see all the creativity and skill from the First Congressional District of Texas displayed at the Michelson Museum of Art. Throughout history, art and its expression have always been vital to our culture. Personally, with one of my daughters being an artist, art has played a significant role in my family’s life. Hosting this competition, has allowed me to see the importance of fine art in our children’s lives. After the winning piece is displayed in our great U.S. Capitol, the rest of the nation will also see the amazing talent that the young adults from east Texas possess.”

2014 Congressional Art Winners:

First Place: Matthew McGehee
Bishop T K Gorman Regional Catholic High School

Second Place: Isabella Walters
Hallsville High School

Third Place: Alexandria Woodridge
Hallsville High School

Honorable Mention: Claudia McMillan
Henderson High School

Honorable Mention: Kylie Stinson
Grace Community School

Honorable Mention: Rachel Gibson
Spring Hill High School

The annual competition is open to high school students across the district. The first place winner was awarded a scholarship and has their artwork displayed in the United States Capitol Building for a year, alongside winning art from Congressional Districts across the United States.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment