News Alert

Monday, October 20, 2014 - 11:06am

Tyler Fire Department soccer team wins state championship

Tyler Fire Department soccer team wins state championship
Thursday, July 19, 2012 - 10:53am

Members of the Tyler Fire Department Soccer Team recently participated in the 2012 Texas Firefighter Games in Lewisville, Texas, on July 16th and 17th. After taking first place the past two years in Division 5, Tyler was moved up to Division 4 and won their third straight gold medal. Competing with over 30 teams from across the State, Tyler went undefeated and won in overtime against Plano in the Championship game. Team Tyler outscored their opponents in the tournament 23 – 4. In order to advance to the championship, Tyler defeated teams from San Angelo, San Marcos, Plano, Fort Worth, and Houston. Tyler was the only team to go undefeated in the tournament this year.

The Tyler Fire Department Soccer Team was first organized in 2008. Since that time, they have participated in four State competitions and have a record of 18 wins and only 4 losses. Members of this year’s team include: Brian Phillips, B.J. Arnold, Greg Crenshaw, Steve Wieczor, Logan Luttrell, Jay McClung, Shawn Wilson, Jason Beasley, Terence Thedford, Eric Rozell, Bruce Hill, Mason Edney, Luke Terry, Chris Mahler, Matt Hazel, and Coach Tony Gumber.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment