Cowboys elected to Texas Sports Hall of Fame

Cowboys elected to Texas Sports Hall of Fame
Wednesday, September 22, 2010 - 10:01pm

Drew Pearson leads the way

WACO, Texas (AP) - Former Dallas Cowboys receiver Drew Pearson
and the team's original owner are two of nine new inductees into
the Texas Sports Hall of Fame.

Pearson caught the famous Hail Mary pass from Roger Staubach in
the 1975 playoffs against Minnesota and won a Super Bowl with the
Cowboys. The late Clint Murchison owned the team from 1960 to 1984.

Among the other inductees are seven-time NFL All-Pro defensive
tackle John Randle, former Texas Rangers catcher Jim Sundberg,
former Texas women's athletic director Donna Lopiano, Olympic gold
medal diver Laura Wilkinson, and Negro League star Willie Wells.

Former NFL players Charley Johnson and Emmitt Thomas also were

The date of the induction ceremony hasn't been announced.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


Comments News Comments

Post new Comment