Davey O'Brien Award picks 2013 semifinalists

Davey O'Brien Award picks 2013 semifinalists
Davey O'Brien Foundation
Monday, November 4, 2013 - 7:07pm

Narrowed down from the starting quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision schools, semifinalists were selected by the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, with the Fan Vote accounting for five percent of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The 2013 Davey O'Brien Semifinalists represent schools from the following conferences: SEC (5), Pac-12 (3), AAC (2), ACC (2), Big Ten (1), Big 12 (1), Mid-American (1) and Mountain West (1).

The list features 2012 winner Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M), 2012 finalist Braxton Miller (Ohio State), and 2012 semifinalists Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Teddy Bridgewater (Louisville), Marcus Mariota (Oregon), A.J. McCarron (Alabama) and Aaron Murray (Georgia).

2013 Davey O'Brien Semifinalists:

  • Blake Bortles, UCF, AAC
  • Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC
  • Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, AAC
  • Derek Carr, Fresno State, MWC
  • Brett Hundley, UCLA, Pac-12
  • Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois, MAC
  • Sean Mannion, Oregon State, Pac-12
  • Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SEC
  • Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12
  • A.J. McCarron, Alabama, SEC
  • Zach Mettenberger, LSU, SEC
  • Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten
  • Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC
  • Bryce Petty, Baylor, Big 12
  • Connor Shaw, South Carolina, SEC
  • Jameis Winston, Florida State, ACC

Fans may now help determine which three quarterbacks will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at Fan voting will close at noon (CT) on Nov. 24.

The three Davey O'Brien finalists will be announced on Monday, Nov. 25 and the 2013 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Thursday, Dec. 12 on ESPN. The 37th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held on Feb.17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award:

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away nearly $900,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment