Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List announced

Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List announced
Friday Football Fever

POSTED: Wednesday, August 20, 2014 - 2:05pm

UPDATED: Wednesday, August 20, 2014 - 2:31pm

The second annual Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List was announced today at the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce East Texas Kickoff Luncheon.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award recognizes the top offensive player in Division 1 football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals. In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year college.

The Watch List announced today will be narrowed to up to 16 semifinalists in November and then up to four finalists in December. They will be selected by broadcasters, commentators, journalists, fans and the previous winner. The finalists will be brought to Tyler for The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Awards Banquet scheduled for January 14, 2015.

This year's Watch List icludes:

  • 43 players from 9 different conferences including three independents (ACC, AAC, Big 10,Big 12, CUSA, MWC, Pac 12, SEC, Sunbelt)
  • Players representing Universities from 22 different states
  • Wide receivers dominate the nominations with 17, followed by running backs (12), quarterbacks (8), tight ends (3), fullbacks (2), halfback (1)

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award was announced in 2012 by the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce and SPORTyler.

“We are fortunate to have a celebrity who exhibits the impeccable virtues that define this award. In addition to being a well known sports figure, Earl also earned a college degree, married his high school sweetheart, raised two successful sons, and still supports the community where he grew up,” said Cindy Smoak, Vice President, SPORTyler.

Earl Campbell graduated from John Tyler High School in Tyler before joining the University of Texas Longhorns under legendary Coach Darrell K. Royal. In his senior year, he led the nation with 1,744 yards rushing and 19 touchdowns, going on to win the Longhorns’ first Heisman Trophy.

He was subsequently drafted by the Houston Oilers where he won Rookie of the Year honors in 1978 and went on to lead the NFL in rushing 3 times. Campbell earned NFL MVP in 1979 and was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1991. He now resides in Austin.

“All my life, all I wanted to do was be an athlete. I kept God in my life and surrounded myself with good people. I am humbled by this award named in my honor,” said Campbell.

This year's list includes the following athletes:

  • Jay Ajayi, Boise State, Running Back
  • Ross Apo, BYU, Wide Receiver
  • Trevone Boykin, TCU, Quarterback
  • Michael Brewer, Virginia Tech, Quarterback
  • Malcolm Brown, Texas, Running Back
  • Damon Bullock, Iowa, Running Back
  • Shane Carden, East Carolina, Quarterback
  • David Cobb, Minnesota, Running Back
  • Noah Copeland, Navy, Fullback
  • Devante Davis, UNLV, Wide Receiver
  • Keyarris Garrett, Tulsa, Wide Receiver
  • Antwan Goodley, Baylor, Wide Receiver
  • D.D. Goodson, Colorado, Wide Receiver
  • Treyvon Green, Northwestern, Running Back
  • Deontay Greenberry, Houston, Wide Receiver
  • Nick Harwell, Kansas, Wide Receiver
  • Rashard Higgins, Colorado, State Wide Receiver
  • Nathan Jeffrey, UTEP, Running Back
  • Aaron Jones, UTEP, Running Back
  • Kam Jones, UTSA, Wide Reciever
  • Darius Joseph, SMU, Wide Receiver
  • Chuckie Keeton, Utah State, Quarterback
  • Malcolme Kennedy, Texas A&M, Wide Receiver
  • Trevor Knight, Oklahoma, Quarterback
  • Shock Linwood, Baylor, Running Back
  • Logan Lister, Rutgers, Tight End
  • Ty Montgomery, Stanford, Wide Receiver
  • Jimmay Mundine, Kansas, Tight End
  • Bryce Petty, Baylor, Quarterback
  • Adam Roberts, San Diego State, Fullback
  • Larry Rose III, New Mexico State, Running Back
  • Jameill Showers, UTEP, Quarterback
  • SeniorZachary Swanson, Virginia, Tight End
  • Jordan Taylor, Rice, Wide Receiver
  • Jordan Thompson, West Virginia, Wide Receiver
  • Jamal Turner, Nebraska, Wide Receiver
  • Trenton Turrentine, Army, Running Back
  • Davis Webb, Texas Tech, Quarterback
  • DeAndrew White, Alabama, Wide Receiver
  • Shane Williams-Rhodes, Boise State, Wide Receiver
  • Trey Williams, Texas A&M, Running Back
  • Dontre Wilson, Ohio State, Halfback
  • Storm Woods, Oregon State, Running Back


Comments News Comments

Post new Comment