Oregon's Mariota named 'Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week'

Oregon's Mariota named 'Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week'
The University of Oregon

POSTED: Monday, October 14, 2013 - 3:03pm

UPDATED: Monday, October 14, 2013 - 3:21pm

Oregon’s Marcus Mariota has been named the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week after leading the second-ranked Ducks to a 45-24 road victory over 16th-ranked Washington.

Mariota, a 6'4" redshirt sophomore, completed 24-of-31 passes for 366 yards and three touchdowns and ran for 88 yards and a score as the Ducks extended their win streak against the Huskies to 10 games. Mariota has now thrown or run for a total of 25 touchdowns this season and has not committed a turnover through six games.

“He was awesome,” Oregon head coach Mark Helfrich said immediately following the game. “I haven’t seen the stats but he played really well. He played really smart and very productive.”

When asked about whether or not he worries about the Heisman talk, Mariota answered, "No, I am too busy with school and homework to pay attention to that."

Next up for Mariota and the Ducks are the Washington State Cougars, who will visit Eugene on October 19.

Honorable Mention for Week Seven:

  • Brett Hundley, UCLA, Pac-12
  • Sean Mannion, Oregon State, Pac-12
  • Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SEC
  • Connor Shaw, South Carolina, SEC
  • Brett Smith, Wyoming, Mountain West
  • Joel Stave, Wisconsin, Big 10
  • Travis Wilson, Utah, Pac-12

During the first nine weeks of the season, a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee will name a Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week. All 125 FBS quarterbacks are candidates for the award until semifinalists are announced on November 4. Finalists will be announced November 25 and the 2013 Davey O’Brien Winner will be announced on December 12.

About the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote:

Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback as often as once daily at The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2013 Davey O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Dec. 12 on ESPN and will be honored at the 37th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 16-17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®:

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away nearly $900,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment