Rangers send Beltre, Darvish to All-Star Game

Rangers send Beltre, Darvish to All-Star Game
Sunday, July 6, 2014 - 7:00pm

Altuve to represent Astros

The Texas Rangers today had two players selected to play for the American League in the 2014 Major League Baseball All-Star Game, which will take place on Tuesday, July 15 at Target Field in Minneapolis. The complete American and National League teams were announced by Major League Baseball.

Both Rangers were selected by vote of the league’s players, managers, and coaches: third baseman Adrian Beltre and right-handed pitcher Yu Darvish.

Beltre, who finished first in the A.L. player voting among third basemen, will be making his fourth All-Star appearance.

Oakland’s Josh Donaldson won the fan voting and will be the A.L. starter at third base. 

Darvish, who placed fifth in the voting among A.L. starting pitchers, has been selected to the All-Star team in each of his three major league seasons.

Here's a look at the complete roster.

American League

C: Salvador Perez, Royals
1B: Miguel Cabrera, Tigers
2B: Robinson Cano, Mariners
SS: Derek Jeter, Yankees
3B: Josh Donaldson, A's
OF: Jose Bautista, Blue Jays
OF: Mike Trout, Angels
OF: Adam Jones, Orioles
DH: Nelson Cruz, Orioles

RHP: Dellin Betances ^, Yankees
LHP: Mark Buehrle ^, Blue Jays
RHP: Yu Darvish ^, Rangers
LHP: Sean Doolittle ^, A's
RHP: Felix Hernandez ^, Mariners
RHP: Greg Holland ^, Royals
LHP: Scott Kazmir ^, A's
LHP: Jon Lester *, Red Sox
LHP: Glen Perkins *, Twins
LHP: David Price *, Rays
RHP: Max Scherzer *, Tigers
RHP: Masahiro Tanaka ^, Yankees

National League National League

C: Yadier Molina, Cardinals
1B: Paul Goldschmidt, D-backs
2B: Chase Utley, Phillies
SS: Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies
3B: Aramis Ramirez, Brewers
OF: Andrew McCutchen, Pirates
OF: Carlos Gomez, Brewers
OF: Yasiel Puig, Dodgers

LHP: Madison Bumgarner ^, Giants
LHP: Aroldis Chapman ^, Reds
RHP: Johnny Cueto ^, Reds
RHP: Zack Greinke *, Dodgers
LHP: Clayton Kershaw ^, Dodgers
RHP: Craig Kimbrel ^, Braves
RHP: Pat Neshek *, Cardinals
RHP: Francisco Rodriguez ^, Brewers
RHP: Tyson Ross *, Padres
RHP: Jeff Samardzija ^, Cubs/A's
RHP: Julio Teheran *, Braves
RHP: Adam Wainwright ^, Cardinals
LHP: Tony Watson *, Pirates
RHP: Jordan Zimmermann ^, Nationals

(^- Player ballot-elected. *- Choice of manager/MLB)

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment